|
|
|
|
November 22nd, 2009, 11:35 PM
|
Corporal
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 105
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Debugging: Bad Armor
AAAAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGGGG!!!
I was working on a mod, finished it, and am trying to create a game using it. Every time I try, it says "bad armor for new monster". I began deconstructing the mod to find out what was wrong. I gave up after I had removed all armor I had created, all armor added to any unit, and all but three units from the mod, and was still getting a "bad armor for new monster" crash.
What can cause that other then "bad armor"?
[I would include the file, but it doesn't want to upload...]
__________________
I mod because I love it.
All hail Fury the (aptly named) Great Hawk.
Last edited by Ghill; November 22nd, 2009 at 11:43 PM..
|
November 22nd, 2009, 11:46 PM
|
Corporal
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 105
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Re: Debugging: Bad Armor
HERE is the code.
__________________
I mod because I love it.
All hail Fury the (aptly named) Great Hawk.
|
November 23rd, 2009, 01:10 AM
|
|
Second Lieutenant
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 471
Thanks: 23
Thanked 28 Times in 16 Posts
|
|
Re: Debugging: Bad Armor
Maybe this:
Code:
#newmonster 2505 --
#name "Owwun Battle Champion"
#spr1 "./Ghill Mod/Owwun Warrior [1].tga"
#spr2 "./Ghill Mod/Owwun Warrior [2].tga"
#size 4
#str 17
#hp 30
#mor 16
#eyes 3
#ap 8
#mapmove 2
#reinvigoration 2
#maxage 30
#descr "Owwun Battle Champions are the biggest, strongest, and most successful of the Owwun."
#att 13
#def 14
#itemslots 15518
#armor 352 --Ceramic great shield
#armor 353 --Ceramic full plate
#weapon 704 --Heavy slasher
#weapon 705 --Disk blade
#weapon 14 --Maul
#ambidextrous
#poorleader
#gcost 100
#end
Are you sure that itemslots# are correct?
|
November 23rd, 2009, 11:42 AM
|
|
Second Lieutenant
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 466
Thanks: 35
Thanked 95 Times in 60 Posts
|
|
Re: Debugging: Bad Armor
To expand on Thilock_Dominus' comment:
The problem may not be with the armor per se, but with the assignment of the armor to the unit (i.e. a slots problem.)
15518
4 hand --> 30
1 head --> 128
1 body --> 1024
1 foot --> 2048
2 misc --> 12288
So: 1 head, 1 body, 1 foot, 4 hands, 2 misc
Total of 9 slots (vs. 7 "normal"). Not sure, but I think this is greater than max number of slots assigned to any vanilla unit, and might be your problem. All the 4 handed units in the base game have only 1 misc slot. Try cutting out one of the other slots to see if it resolves the issue.
Also, note that in your "Monsters" comment section (beginning line 154) you might want to take out all of the "#" symbols. I'm not sure how the parser is supposed to handle comments, but in practice, I find that it frequently will try to parse it even if the mod command does not begin the line.
|
November 23rd, 2009, 12:01 PM
|
First Lieutenant
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: In Ulm und um Ulm herum
Posts: 787
Thanks: 133
Thanked 78 Times in 46 Posts
|
|
Re: Debugging: Bad Armor
I had the same problem - replacing the numbers with strings
i.e. #armor "Ceramic great shield" instead of #armor 352
fixed it.
|
November 23rd, 2009, 01:49 PM
|
|
Second Lieutenant
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 466
Thanks: 35
Thanked 95 Times in 60 Posts
|
|
Re: Debugging: Bad Armor
Quote:
Originally Posted by Illuminated One
I had the same problem - replacing the numbers with strings
i.e. #armor "Ceramic great shield" instead of #armor 352
fixed it.
|
++ Good call. Didn't even notice, but the #armor command does not accept armor numbers as arguments (see section 10.14 of the modding manual.) That's almost certainly the issue (though I'd still have reservations re: the slots.)
|
November 23rd, 2009, 07:01 PM
|
Corporal
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 105
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Re: Debugging: Bad Armor
It works now! Thanks guys!
__________________
I mod because I love it.
All hail Fury the (aptly named) Great Hawk.
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is On
|
|
|
|
|