.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Air Assault Task Force- Save $8.00
World Supremacy- Save $10.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 3: The Awakening

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 21st, 2009, 06:57 PM
GrudgeBringer's Avatar

GrudgeBringer GrudgeBringer is offline
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 1,460
Thanks: 13
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
GrudgeBringer is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Twist Fate

I was reading the manual about Twist fate and its abbreviated explanation/definition.

My question is:

I will assume a Heavy Cavalry with its -3 first strike capibility would be the first 'hit' so twist fate on those units would be over.

Do Arrow attacks count also as 'first stike', and in the same vein, would some (or all) magic (such as Smite) count.

Its not clear to me what exactly a first strike consists of in this instance.

Your thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 21st, 2009, 07:05 PM

Executor Executor is offline
Major General
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Serbia
Posts: 2,245
Thanks: 48
Thanked 84 Times in 46 Posts
Executor is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Twist Fate

An arrow, a spell, a lance, any first strike will be negated by this effect.
Only once per battle.

Cavalry with 3 attacks would use the first strike on twist fate and the other two could potentialy be delivered, depends on the defense doe.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 21st, 2009, 07:08 PM

Endovior Endovior is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 23
Thanks: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Endovior is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Twist Fate

Correct me if I'm wrong... but Twist Fate doesn't deal with any of that. There's no special 'first strike' trait that might affect you, that Twist Fate somehow negates.

IIRC, Twist Fate works like this: after it's been cast (or the first time in a battle, if you have it from some other source), the first successful attack against you is negated. Then you lose the benefits of Twist Fate.

That's it.

This applies to any attack against you, whether it's a guy running up to stab you, a high priest trying to smite you, or that arrow with your name on it. The first one that hits you is negated, and then you lose the benefit.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 21st, 2009, 07:08 PM

Micah Micah is offline
Major
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,226
Thanks: 12
Thanked 86 Times in 48 Posts
Micah is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Twist Fate

I don't believe Death effects are negated by twist, and I'm pretty sure it's not limited to once per battle, just once per cast.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 21st, 2009, 07:15 PM

Executor Executor is offline
Major General
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Serbia
Posts: 2,245
Thanks: 48
Thanked 84 Times in 46 Posts
Executor is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Twist Fate

Well a first strike is a FIRST strike, which would also imply you hit, not the first per round or unit.
And yes a strike is negated once per use not battle, but will you be casting it more than once anyway?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 21st, 2009, 08:53 PM
GrudgeBringer's Avatar

GrudgeBringer GrudgeBringer is offline
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 1,460
Thanks: 13
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
GrudgeBringer is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Twist Fate

Now I am confused...

Is First Strike per 'ROUND' or per 'BATTLE' (I understand its a successful hit).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 21st, 2009, 08:55 PM

Redeyes Redeyes is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 539
Thanks: 15
Thanked 43 Times in 34 Posts
Redeyes is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Twist Fate

Twist fate defends against:
The first attack that deals damage after you get it,
I doesn't defend against misses and those that don't get past protection

I hope that's answer enough for your questions
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old April 21st, 2009, 08:56 PM

Executor Executor is offline
Major General
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Serbia
Posts: 2,245
Thanks: 48
Thanked 84 Times in 46 Posts
Executor is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Twist Fate

Per battle.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old April 21st, 2009, 10:19 PM
JimMorrison's Avatar

JimMorrison JimMorrison is offline
Lieutenant General
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Utopia, Oregon
Posts: 2,676
Thanks: 83
Thanked 143 Times in 108 Posts
JimMorrison is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Twist Fate

Per CAST. Just an important distinction, I've seen Astral mages tie down a few attackers for awhile just spamming Twist Fate..... combined with Luck and maybe an elemental resist, it could be a semi-viable tactic, if the AI wouldn't switch to other spells you have researched. You just only really see this when you have no research done at all.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2025, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.