.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Air Assault Task Force- Save $8.00
World Supremacy- Save $10.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 2: The Ascension Wars

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 11th, 2004, 12:46 AM

Merry Jolkar Merry Jolkar is offline
BANNED USER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 248
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Merry Jolkar is on a distinguished road
Default timing, storm castle?

I have just knocked down the walls of the Machaka Lich Lord's Mausoleum. If I now storm the castle, and he sends his large army into the province from next door, will I:

1) fight the Lich Lord and then own the mausoleum, which will defend me from the large attacking army

2) fight first the large army, then the lich lord

3) fight first the lich lord, then turn and face the arriving army?

Also, once I kill the lich lord in his home province, does his army disappear ala the orc hordes who vaporized after Sauron was killed, or do they remain, but leaderless?

Thanks!
Merry
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 11th, 2004, 12:59 AM
Graeme Dice's Avatar

Graeme Dice Graeme Dice is offline
General
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 3,013
Thanks: 17
Thanked 25 Times in 22 Posts
Graeme Dice is on a distinguished road
Default Re: timing, storm castle?

Quote:
Originally posted by Merry Jolkar:
2) fight first the large army, then the lich lord
It's this one, since storming a castle happens after other movement.

Quote:
Also, once I kill the lich lord in his home province, does his army disappear ala the orc hordes who vaporized after Sauron was killed, or do they remain, but leaderless?
This depends completely on whether or not he controls other provinces, and whether he has any dominion left in the world. If he does, then as long as his capital has positive dominion he will continue to be reborn there. I'm not sure if he will die instantly when it is controlled by another nation, but the pretender's death has no effect on his troops.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 11th, 2004, 01:24 AM

Merry Jolkar Merry Jolkar is offline
BANNED USER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 248
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Merry Jolkar is on a distinguished road
Default Re: timing, storm castle?

Thanks for the help. Can the enemy move into the castle, and join the lich to defend from within? Or, will I face them on the battlefield as a defender, and then turn to attack the lich in his mausoleum?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 11th, 2004, 02:02 AM
PvK's Avatar

PvK PvK is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 8,806
Thanks: 54
Thanked 33 Times in 31 Posts
PvK is on a distinguished road
Default Re: timing, storm castle?

I think you usually get two battles:

One battle outside the castle (no castle on the battlefield), between the arriving enemy relief force combined with enemy units trying to break the seige from within, against any units you have in the province who are NOT storming the castle (and who aren't hiding).

Another battle at the castle, with the defenders left inside the castle, and the troops you have ordered to storm the castle.

If you lose the first (exterior) battle, but win the interior battle (for example, if you send most or all of your forces to storm the castle), I think I have seen that what happens is you end up with your army inside the castle, but the relieving enemy army outside the castle. I also think the defense value of the fort gets restored at this point (which isn't unreasonable, if you imagine that the former attackers, once in control of the fort, are able to dismantle their siege towers, collapse their tunnels, set up their seige engines for defense, etc.

PvK
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 11th, 2004, 03:19 AM

Norfleet Norfleet is offline
Major General
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,425
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Norfleet is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: timing, storm castle?

Quote:
Originally posted by PvK:
One battle outside the castle (no castle on the battlefield), between the arriving enemy relief force combined with enemy units trying to break the seige from within, against any units you have in the province who are NOT storming the castle (and who aren't hiding).
No, the first battle occurs with everyone, including the people who are storming, as well as the people who are not storming.

Quote:
Another battle at the castle, with the defenders left inside the castle, and the troops you have ordered to storm the castle.
Correct.

Quote:
If you lose the first (exterior) battle, but win the interior battle (for example, if you send most or all of your forces to storm the castle), I think I have seen that what happens is you end up with your army inside the castle, but the relieving enemy army outside the castle.
Incorrect. If you lose the first battle, outside the castle, your entire army is broken and there will BE no interior battle.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 11th, 2004, 12:05 PM

mivayan mivayan is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 404
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
mivayan is on a distinguished road
Default Re: timing, storm castle?

Quote:
I have just knocked down the walls of the Machaka Lich Lord's Mausoleum. If I now storm the castle, and he sends his large army into the province from next door, will I:
You will most likely:
First fight the large army + the lich lord.
Then fight the lich lord inside the castle.

Since he is immortal he will respawn after he dies in the first fight as long as he has positive dominion.

Quote:
Also, once I kill the lich lord in his home province, does his army disappear ala the orc hordes who vaporized after Sauron was killed, or do they remain, but leaderless?
The lich dying will not effect his army at all, and even if it dies in its home province it can be called back by priests.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 11th, 2004, 04:01 PM

Vynd Vynd is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 309
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Vynd is on a distinguished road
Default Re: timing, storm castle?

Another thing you need to consider is that you might win the fight outside the castle, lose half your army in the process, and be left with too weak of an army to successfuylly storm the castle. Which would be bad news if your army is in fact set to do just that. So if the relieving force is big enough to hurt you, you might want to delay giving the order to storm the castle until it has attacked you, and you can see what you have left afterwards.

Of course that's risky, since you don't know how many more men are marching towards the capital to attack you. But it doesn't sound like you have any risk free options at this point.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 12th, 2004, 07:47 PM

Norfleet Norfleet is offline
Major General
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,425
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Norfleet is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: timing, storm castle?

Of course, if you delay storming the castle, the next turn, you may be attacked by yet ANOTHER relief force....or worse, the relief force never appears, as it turns out to be a decoy, and something nasty has taken advantage of your hesitation to build a lab and trapeze/teleport/gateway into the castle, so when you storm the harmless, nearly empty castle, you find something very unpleasant and fatal.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2025, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.