.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Air Assault Task Force- Save $8.00
World Supremacy- Save $10.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 2: The Ascension Wars

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 9th, 2004, 11:18 PM
Maltrease's Avatar

Maltrease Maltrease is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 402
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Maltrease is on a distinguished road
Default Communion Master and Slave

What exactly happens if a unit cast both communion slave and communion master?

For example if you have 8 Units, each cast both. Should all 8 units now have 3 levels higher magic?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 10th, 2004, 03:15 AM

Duncanish Duncanish is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Duncanish is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Communion Master and Slave

That's it indeed. A communion/sabbath can, theoretically have unlimited masters and slaves. They'll all share fatigue and caster-only buffs. But it's not really worth having several Masters.
__________________
My plans are always practical! It's the laws of physics that get in the way of my success!

I found out what zombies are weak against.
Oh?
Point blank annihilation.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 10th, 2004, 04:53 AM

Slygar Slygar is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: adfs
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Slygar is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Communion Master and Slave

this is something i've always wanted to know for sure. Can a mage be a slave and a master at the same time?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 10th, 2004, 05:09 AM
Maltrease's Avatar

Maltrease Maltrease is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 402
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Maltrease is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Communion Master and Slave

My test didn't lead to any definite conclusion. It would be great if you could see the upgrade magic paths by looking at the unit.

I had 4 theurgs each cast slave followed by master and then scripted for 4 smites. It didn't work... although they were casting divine blessing and fanatism. There were valid smite targets within range.

I then tried 8 theurgs with the same script. In this case only 1 theurg cast smite... the others didn't do anyting. It was like they just skipped their turns.

I haven't tried scripting them for other spells yet. Maybe that would offer a clue?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 10th, 2004, 05:24 AM

Norfleet Norfleet is offline
Major General
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,425
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Norfleet is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Communion Master and Slave

The better, more conclusive test, would be to simply do the following:

Take two Theurgs, script the first to do "Master, Slave, Astral Shield, Hold, Hold, Spells". Script the second to do "Master, Slave, Astral Weapon, Hold, Hold, Spells". If both of them end up with astral weapon and astral shield, it means a unit CAN simultaneously be a master and a slave.

Obviously, a unit can't commune with itself, so having 4 Theurgs would mean that each Theurg had, at best, 3 slaves, for a total of only +1 paths. Not enough for smite. If you had 5 Theurgs, that would have been more conclusive.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 10th, 2004, 06:34 AM

Yossar Yossar is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 365
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yossar is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Communion Master and Slave

Quote:
Originally posted by Norfleet:
The better, more conclusive test, would be to simply do the following:

Take two Theurgs, script the first to do "Master, Slave, Astral Shield, Hold, Hold, Spells". Script the second to do "Master, Slave, Astral Weapon, Hold, Hold, Spells". If both of them end up with astral weapon and astral shield, it means a unit CAN simultaneously be a master and a slave.
Tried it with 2 lizardman shamen. All spells should cost 24 fatigue, including encumbrance.

Round 1: Both cast slave. Each has 24 fatigue.
Round 2: Both cast master. Each has 48 fatigue.
Round 3: One casts Astral Shield and one does nothing. Both have 72 fatigue. Both are shielded. Only one casting has taken place, but both get the fatigue as if they had cast the spell and one shaman didn't do anything.
Round 4: Similar to 3. One casts Astral Weapon, one does nothing, and both end up at 96 fatigue.

So based on this test slave and master work together, but they work... oddly.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2025, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.